NZ Marist College Sevens Tournament 2015







St Pat's Silverstream beat Christchurch St Bedes 29 - 12 in the final

Thanks to Adam Julian and Steve White -

St Pat's Silverstream have defended their BLK New Zealand Marist College Sevens title this afternoon at Evans Bay Artificial, running away at the end to beat Christchurch's St Bede's College 29-12 in the Cup final.

Silverstream played through the tournament unbeaten, with wins on day one against Palmerston North Boys High School (45-0), St Pat's Wellington Old Boys Association Barbarians (38-0) and St Thomas of Canterbury (35-12). They opened day two with an impressive 45-5 Cup quarterfinal win over the Wellington Pacific Barbarians team, to set up an afternoon Cup semi-final showdown with cross-town rivals St Pat's Wellington.

St Pat's Silverstream prevailed 29-17 in that contest, but not without a fright after Xavier Numea rocked them with an early try in the corner that was brilliantly converted from the sideline. Losi Filipo responded by scoring for Silverstream, but St Pat's Wellington had the halftime lead when they scored again out wide. The second half of the semi-final was the Asafo Aumua – Sione Uvea show. Aumua made a desperate tackle to prevent St Pat's Wellington from scoring another try, and he scored two tries himself while also playing a hand in creating tries for Sione Uvea who also scored a brace.

In the other Cup semi-final St Bede's College beat Rongotai College 31-0, in a somewhat flattering scoreline, with Rongotai more competitive than the result showed. For St Bede's Dylan Lolohea scored two tries whilst No. 8 Moeaki Toma was also strong in that game.

The Cup final was also super-competitive affair, with a 12-12 deadlock by halftime, Losi Filipo and Asafo Aumua scoring first half tries for Silverstream and Luke Wisby and Lolohea crossing for St Bede's. In the second half St Bede's played without structure and Silverstream bullied them at the rucks. Asafo Aumua once again showed his quality by scoring a try, Sione Uvea scored two tries and Joe Harawira scored the last try for the victors.

Palmerston North Boys' High School won the Plate competition, beating Lower Hutt's St Bernard's College 29-5 in the final. Porirua's Bishop Viard College defeated Feilding College Hato Paroa 33-24 to win the Bowl final.

Sir Gordon Tietjens was on hand for some of the second day's play, watching some of tomorrow's future stars. Previously on day one, St Pat's Silverstream, St Bede's, host college St Pat's Wellington and eastern suburbs rivals Rongotai College won the four pools.

Aumua was named both the Player of the Final and the Tournament, and will join the New Zealand Marist Sevens squad for their upcoming tour of Samoa.

NZ Marist College Sevens Team 2015

Sam Siosi - Chanel College
Viliame Fine - St Bernards College
Dylan Lolohea - St Bedes College
Moeaki Tima - St Bedes College
Asafo Aumuamua - St Pats Silverstream
Jayden McCarthy - Bishop Viard College
James Wood - Aquinas College
Regan Sword - Hato Paora College
Tiari Mumby - Hato Paora College
Xavier Numea - St Pats Wellington
Willy Taylor - Roncali College
Sione Uvea - St Pats Silverstream
Saia Paese - St Pats Wellington
Luke Wisby - St Bedes College
Patrick Elia - St Thomas College
Clayton Waikato - St Thomas College

NZ Marist 7s Samoa Tour 2015

Asafo Aumuamua - St Pats Silverstream



Day One :

SPC Silverstream 45 - Palmerston North Boys' High 0
SPC Wellington 26 - Aquinas 12
Roncalli 40 - Chanel 5
Rathkeale 31 - Horowhenua Kapiti Colleges 5
Rongotai 24 - St Bernard's 12
Wellington Pacific Barbarians 22 - Hato Paora 7
St. Thomas of Canterbury 31 - SPC OBA Barbarians 0
St.Bede's 39 - Bishop Viard 0
Roncalli 21 - Rongotai 14
Wellington 22 - Hato Paora 10
SPC Silverstream 38 - SPC OBA Barbarians 0
St. Bede's 55 - Horowhenua-Kapiti 0
Palmerston North Boys' High 29 - St. Thomas of Canterbury 5
Wellington Pacific Barbarians 12 - Aquinas 7
St. Bernard's 58 - Chanel 0
Rathkeale 22 - Bishop Viard 17
SPC Silverstream 35 - St. Thomas of Canterbury 12
SPC Wellington 26 - Wellington Pacific Barbarians 19
St. Bernard's 19 - Roncalli 10
Bishop Viard 34 - Horowhenua-Kapiti 0
Palmerston North Boys' High 31 - SPC OBA Barbarians 12
Hato Paora 17 - Aquinas 5
Rongotai 54 - Chanel 0
St Bede's 29 - Rathkeale 5


Day Two (Saturday 8 February):

Cup quarterfinals:
St Pat’s Silverstream 45 - Wellington Pacific Barbarians 5
SPC Wellington 31 - St Bernard’s 7
Rongotai College 17 - Rathkeale College 15
St Bede’s 27 - Palmerston North Boys’ High 0

Plate quarterfinals:
Aquinas 19 - St. Thomas of Canterbury 17
Hato Paora 34 - Chanel College 0
Roncalli College 12 - Horowhenua-Kapiti Colleges 12 (Roncalli progress after scoring the first try)
Bishop Viard College 17 - SPC OBA Barbarians 10

Playoff for 13th/14th:
St Thomas of Canterbury 32 - Chanel College 5

Bowl semi-finals:
Hato Paora 10 - Aquinas 7
Bishop Viard College 22 - Roncalli College 14

Plate semi-finals:
St Bernard’s 12 - Wellington Pacific Barbarians 0
Palmerston North Boys’ High School 26 - Rathkeale 5

Cup semi-finals:
St Pat’s Silverstream  32 - SPC Wellington 17
St Bede’s 31 - Rongotai College 0

Bowl final:
Bishop Viard College 33 - Hato Paora College 24

Plate final:
Palmerston North Boys’ High School 29 - St Bernard’s College 5

Cup final:
St Pat’s Silverstream 29 - St Bede’s 12